My Time At Idaho Laughfest 2016

I just got back from Idaho laughfest 2016.  I never really know what to make of festivals.  I am alway weary when someone ask me to pay to perform, but at the same time, it is a great place to meet comedians and get connections you normally wouldn’t.  I can only tell you about the shows in which I performed and saw at Liquid Laughs.  I didn’t really go to any of the other shows that were taking place in other venues.

My first show was at 7pm, and when I got there it was packed with people.  Liquid Lounge, where the comedy club is located, is in a nice busy section of downtown Boise.  It was great to see a packed house on a Thursday at 7pm!  I was a couple spots from the bottom so I just settled in and waited my turn.  I noticed that I looked like someone that didn’t want to be talked to (which is not why I came there) and so I put the iPad away and tried to look less scary.  When I got up I had a pretty good set.  The crowd was feeling it and, just like in 2009, I felt as though Boise was a pretty hip comedy town.  I felt like the other comics each brought something cool to the table.  I honestly felt like a fraud because I don’t think I put that much time into the wording of my jokes like I feel a lot of other comedians do.

The second night I had a midnight show.  I was a little worried about the turnout.  I have never done a midnight show, but it doesn’t sound like a show with standing room only.  I was right.  By the time the show was underway there were about 20-30 people there.  I was the next to last person to go on and by that time the number had dwindled considerably.  This doesn’t bother me.  I have performed for way less people.  I went up and did a couple of jokes that bounce around in my head, but I never do.  They worked really well! Now, I don’t know if that is because they got the references or if they were actually funny, but they dug it and I will count it.  I was a little disheartened, by my set though.  I felt as though I went to my comedic crutch of talking about balls and cursing, which is something I have made an effort to shy away from.

The last night of the show, I had a spot on the last show if the festival.  It was so freaking packed when I got there, and I hoped that it would be the same for the shows we did.  It was!  Packed house and I am third from last.  I didn’t know what I was going to do material wise, so I just went with what I usually do in a situation like that.  I go with the jokes I like at the moment and mix it in with a couple of newer jokes.  It was my best set of the festival I felt.  I felt good coming off the stage and I think people seemed to enjoy themselves.

The best part about the whole thing is that I was able to connect with a lot of comics and got a lot of potential work out of it.  That was my goal and I am glad I was able to accomplish that.  I also got to perform at Liquid Laughs which I hope will lead to work there as well.  I got to met a lot of cool comedians and make a lot of new friends.  My opinion on comedy festivals has been steadily changing over the years and I think if you have the ability, you should at least try to get on a festival.  It could help put some work on your schedule.

 

Leave a Reply

