I’m Kim Kardashian’s Booty Wrangler

So, I made the trip to San Francisco today.  The first flight, into Portland, was a tight fit.  I am way too damn wide to sit in a normal airplane seat.  That is why I liked when I got on a bigger plane and didn’t have to sit right next to anyone.

I get a little overwhelmed when I go to a large city.  The same thing happened when I went to New York earlier this year.  I don’t think I am a city person.  I rented a car, so I got to drive on California’s highways…It was something else.

I keep going back and forth from being cool with being in this competition, to asking myself why do I do this to myself. I know why I am doing this to myself.  I am cool with it because I try not to worry about the outcome.  At the same time, I want to do well.  Who comes all the way here, spends all this money, just to go home a couple days later.  If I wanted to come to San Francisco, I could have done that without giving myself even worst heartburn.

I hate that these things are part of the process of comedy.  People will tell you that it’s not, but it is.  Unless you are already on TV or in a movie, or you are doing mostly private and corporate shows, then you have nothing to grab a booker’s attention.  I don’t like it as much as anyone else.  I would love to be able to send my demo and my promo stuff, and have my calendar booked solid.  This is the reality, and entertainment is less for it.

Of course I have been researching camera shops for the past month. I got in a little too late, so I will get out there tomorrow and hit all the ones that I was interested in it.  This seems to be the thing I like to do when I get to a city.  Portland so far has the most lackluster camera stores I have ever seen.  New York wins because of B&H which is the greatest camera shop I have ever stepped foot in.  I do like Glazer’s in Seattle though, except that one day where it smelled like deer piss.

I am so proud of all the comedians that are in Spokane.  They are rocking out with making the shows and filming sketches.  They are taking their comedy growth into their own hands instead of letting people dictate when they are ready. It is like my dream is coming true, to have a scene that people want to take seriously.  The show we did last week was, I believe, an exact result of the amount of support given to the Spokane comedy scene because of all the great comics, doing awesome things.  I could not be more proud of these guys.

Wish me luck in the San Francisco International Comedy Competition.  Don’t pray though.  I need those Jesus points for when I have another heart attack.

Leave a Reply

