Instilling Confidence In Your Child

I took my child to Seattle for a couple of days.  I was afraid.  This is the longest I have ever been with her alone in years.  She is a teenager and teenage things have happened, but one thing that bothers me is her reluctance to do the things she loves when someone is watching.  For example:  She loves to sing.  She wants to sing for a living.  She even sings in front of hundreds of people yearly at the Christmas concert the school puts on, but yet she will freak out if someone is watching her sing.  My argument is that one or many, you have to be able to perform without getting cold feet.  I don’t know if I am a good person to be telling her this because I just started having confidence in myself.  For decades I have been beating myself up.  Never doing the things I loved because I was afraid of how people would receive me.  It wasn’t until my mid 20’s that I found enough courage to do something that I liked.  I don’t want her to end up like me.  Wanting to make music, but was too scared to do anything about it.  She is a teenager, so of course she thinks I am talking out of my ass.  I want her to realize it before it’s too late.

The hotel we are at has the worse internet.  You would think that hotels would get this shit right, but 4 out of 10 hotels have great internet.  The rest feels like they just bought a normal home router and set it up under a table or something.  Hotels just get internet so they can put that up as a feature.  The problem is once I try your internet, I will not come back to your hotel again.  Fix that shit.  Some people want to watch YouTube.

I have just been picking up shows out of the blue.  Why?  Because persistence pays off!  I have been sending emails to these bookers for months and I picked up a couple weeks of work.  Well, it actually happened that I sent them an email and they just happened to have open dates.  I filled them.  So I was probably more lucky then impressive.  I got my foot in the door though.  Now time to knock it down!!

 

Leave a Reply

