10 Years Of Stand Up

I have officially been performing stand up for 10 years.  I still have no idea where the time went.  It has had it’s ups…and mostly downs, but I appreciate the ups because they were so few and far between.

I never thought that I would be a comedian.  I liked comedy a lot, but I never thought I would have the balls to get up on stage in front of people.  I remember going to see “The Original Kings Of Comedy” and being blown away.  I used to watch BET comic view and stuff, but it never really translated into something I thought I could do.  I never even knew how you could be a comedian.  I never even knew that was a career you could be until much later.

I remember the first time as an adult I was told I should be a comedian.  My ex-wife’s step-brother was a comedian and I was over at their house one day just telling this story about our cat.  Him and his dad were busting up laughing and they told me I should try it.  That was probably 2002.  I gave it a shot in 2005.  Mainly because my life was so deep in the toilet that I had nothing to lose.  I was divorced.  My kid wasn’t living with me any longer, and I was going to be medically discharged from the military. Getting up on stage or dying were equal in my head at that moment.  I went with a military buddy of mine to The Brickwall Comedy Club.  It was a Sunday and they were having their open mic night.  We waited and we saw all types of acts.  I saw a guy named Vaughn Eaglebear who was doing one liners and then I saw another comic named Meghan Flaherty who was all comfortable and stuff on stage and I thought about running away a couple of times, but I didn’t drive and I didn’t know where I was.

My friend went up first and he did really well.  I was nervous as hell, but they had a policy of being nice to people going up their first time.  I went up and I basically just rambled for about five minutes.  When I got off stage the host of the open mic said to me, “How did it feel?”  I said, “Great!”  It was better than great.  It was life changing.  It gave me such a high that I had never felt before.  People came up to me and said I did alright and that was confirmation enough for me.  While my friend didn’t really go again, I went every weekend.  I couldn’t help it.  When I went to work, I took a notebook and just wrote everything I could in it.  I was knee deep in it.  It gave my life meaning again.  I thought I was going to be a married, military father forever, but when that changed and instead of just rolling up and dying I found something that gave me a lot of joy.

Did my first commercial photo shoot yesterday and I was nervous because I alway feel like a fraud when I do these things.  That is more to do with confidence than my level of ability.  I learned that I may need a wide angle lens for smaller areas, and I need to ask before hand what the client is trying to convey with their photos.  I am a matter of fact person.  I want to display information as plain as possible.  That is not for everyone, and I should make sure I know that before I walk into a session.

Had another private show Saturday and it went…ok…It wasn’t like the one at the church, but these people were in a different socioeconomic place than I so a couple of jokes went over their head.  Other than that though it was pretty good.  I am more concerned that people at a private show are satisfied than when I am doing just a normal show and I don’t really know why.

Sending out more booking notices.  This needs to be done.  I get discouraged and that is not the nature of the beast.  You have to stick with it if you want the work and I feel like I can do that.

To explain the picture…when I searched decade in google this is what popped up.  Thank you Google.

Leave a Reply

