Rather Be Lucky Then Good

The one thing I now know about comedy that I didn’t when I started was that some are good…and some are just lucky.  That goes with everything in life, right.  The guy that managed to get the regional manager job even though he has horrible people skills.  The band that is touring with Metallica even though they kind of suck.  The same with comedy.  I would rather be lucky then the guy that can kill a room, but nothing seems to go their way.  In my personal experience, I have seen it at least 50 times.  I have seen a comic that is not really exceptional, but they have other attributes that got them on the road for 30 weeks a year.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am not hating.  If you get the chances then you were obviously standing in a spot be in front of it.  I am just saying that we all know that person that is persistent and confident and just pure lucky and that is why they are touring with some big comic.  I see it eat people up.  I have sat there and talked to comics and another guy will pop up and you can see the jealousy in their eyes.  I really don’t want to get that bitter.  Every working comic wants to get paid well enough that they can pursue comedy and nothing else.  I just try to work on my stuff and make sure I am ready if that chance ever comes my way.

By this time next week I will be in the big apple!  I am so excited I even went and bought new pants.  I want to see how my material will go over in New York.  I know that a lot of these places are tough, but I think with the right attitude on stage you can do well.  That is my goal.  To NOT suck.

I want to hit up museums ad stuff, but mainly I want to be engulfed in the comedy scene there.  I want to see how they run their shows.  Whenever I see a flyer it seems like the “headliner” is just the guy that can do 20-30 minutes.  That must make it tough to get an hour going.  You really have to be a touring comic to do a true headliner set.

I have not filmed anything for the documentary in about a week.  I do have a new lens though so now I can get back to it.  What I thought was going to take a week or two to get done is probably going to take about a month or two.  This is my first thing of this nature so I am a little nervous that I will mess it up.  I just want to make it not suck.

Need to get a website done.  I don’t know if I will start tomorrow or if I will start after New York, but I was basically laughed at for not having one.  It is a simple process, but my cheapness and my slackness has kept me from having one.

I think work for photography is going to take off pretty soon.  I have gotten more inquiries so that is always a good thing. I get nervous about taking people’s pictures because I don’t want to do a crappy job and people see that and not want anything to do with it.  Again.  I don’t want to suck.

I have also been slacking on the YouTube channel.  I don’t know why either.  I have topics that I want to do, I just don’t sit down and get it done.  It isn’t even hard.  It is just about me getting off my ass and doing it.

 

Leave a Reply

