Sacrifice

If you want to make a career out of show business, you will have to know that sacrifices will have to be made.  That is the name of the business.  If you want it bad enough, you will have to sacrifice something.  The entire business is all about doing what the next guy won’t do in order to get further in your career.

When you first start out, especially in comedy, going out to open mics.  That means you have forgo all the things you would do with that 2-3 hours that you had available.  You have to give up on hanging out with your friends every weekend.  You have to tell your kids sometimes that you are going to be somewhere else when they want to hang out with you.

If you are lucky enough, you may start getting paid for comedy.  If that is the case, you will have to see how much you are willing to give up to make more money doing comedy.  If you have a full time job, you might have to sacrifice your vacation time in order to get to shows.  Some people (like me) make almost enough to just not even worry about work anymore, but not there yet.  So, you might have to go large portions of the year broke as shit.  If you are not willing to do that then keep your job and don’t go into comedy full time.

People who are full time comedians have to sacrifice yet still.  If you are gone almost every week you have to have a great relationship.  If you have kids, they may have to get used to seeing you a couple of days a month.  When you are living out of a suitcase you sacrifice a lot.  Like what channel CSI comes on.  When you are home you know.  When you are in a different part of the country, you have no clue.

At this stage in my career, I am sacrificing time with my kid.  I am sacrificing spending time with my lady.  I sacrifice these things because I really want to succeed in comedy.  I want comedy to be the thing that pays my bills, and in order to do that I have to do things like go to open mics on night I would rather not.  I do shows that I know might not work out, but in order to pay the bills I have to do it.  I give up having a full time, great paying job.  I do that because I love comedy so much.  If you can’t see yourself doing this then there is nothing wrong with just having comedy as a hobby.

Leave a Reply

