Show Drought

I haven’t been involved in a paid show for about 3 weeks now and when that happens I then go into “I need to be sending my stuff out more mode”.  I send out my package and send the emails and get…nothing.  This is part of the game when it comes to show business. I can’t expect people to just throw work my way so easily.  Comedy is a marathon.  You work long on the material, you work longer on developing it and sharpening it to a fine point and then you go all over trying to convince people that you are worth paying.  See the problem with that is you have to contend with others doing the same thing and bookers that are pretty entrenched in what they already have.  If you are doing just fine with the friends that you have, why would you ever let an “outsider” in there and mess with that.

When it comes to getting the attention of bookers I have always been a “you have to see the show” guy. I don’t know what it is, but I have a terrible time replicating a satisfactory show when I am filming myself.  So when I send a potential booker my video of my performance it looks as though it is not my best work.  You also have to get their attention.  These people get hundreds of email every day from people wanting to work their rooms.  So, you can assume that they are not just looking at each and everyone.  They may open a couple.  They may not open any and stick with what they have.  You never know.  But you can’t stop trying.

I go through bouts when I am really productive and hitting the pavement and then there are times when I all I want to do is lay in bed and contemplate getting a normal job.  The only reason I don’t is that all that comedy entails excites me and makes me want to keep doing it.  I may not be the next Louie CK, but our dreams are the same.

Leave a Reply

