The Summer Doldrums

Summer is fast approaching and for a low tier comic not in a big city this is when all my shows dry up and I basically become a bum.  Spokane is not known for comedy in the first place, but once the sun starts batting away the cold wind and flurries, comedy clubs and bars become ghost towns for comedy.  Now, people will point out the obvious, that it is a correct response to be trapped in your house for 4 to 5 months.  In my eyes I don’t see it like that.  I think that more work is required to get people’s attention to other things than just sitting by the lake.

For the past two years I have been taking part in the local clubs summer comedy series.  That is just a fancy name for shows that happen when the comedy season is over.  The comedy season starts from September to about the end of April. Think of it like a network show.  Anyway, what I usually do is make a couple of flyers and advertise the hell out of it.  The first time I did it I got an almost packed house.  Last year was lower, but still impressive seeing as how the club itself could not get that many people in there.

So, you may ask what does a lower tier comic in a medium sized metro area do during these two or three months when no one wants him.  Well, I will tell you because I’m nice like that.  I usually try to do one off shows in a bar or in the club mentioned earlier.  Then I pick up the slack for bookers in bigger cities.  See here is the cool thing about show business, there are many people out there that are slackers, so I will come to the rescue of a booker or friend in need and do a show when they have a drop out.  That usually means I can’t plan anything because I may be gone at the last minute, but it is not that big of a deal anyway when your days consist of player video games and trying to book shows for the fall. Other than that though it is just a lot of sitting around working on things I didn’t have time to work on during the times I am heavily booked.  Like head shots and bios and stories for my short story book that I am writing.

Another thing I am going try this year is getting out to Seattle and Portland.  There you can met people who were also busy as hell during the fall and get more connections.  It’s alway work, but the cool thing is that I love it.

Shout out to Troy Kirby for kicking me in the ass and getting me back up on the horse.  With friends like this it will be a heart attack that takes me out and not alcoholism.

Leave a Reply

